You register the car in the state where you live, so you pay that state’s transfer fee and stamp duty, not the seller’s. For a $30,000 car the one-off cost ranges from $922 in Northern Territory to $1,307.50 in Victoria. On top of that, most states want an inspection of the car before they will register it.
Checked 9 October 2026. Rules and fees change, so confirm with your state agency before you hand over any money.
This is the transfer fee plus stamp duty for a typical 4-cylinder petrol car, worked out with the same fee tables as our compare every state calculator. The seller’s state does not change this. Where you live does.
| State | Transfer and stamp duty | Then rego per year |
|---|---|---|
| Northern Territory | $922 | $849.25 |
| Queensland | $933.65 | $852.70 |
| Tasmania | $935.28 | $642.77 |
| New South Wales | $942 | $833 |
| Australian Capital Territory | $1,002.70 | $1,036.10 |
| Western Australia | $1,070.50 | $953.44 |
| South Australia | $1,173 | $705 |
| Victoria | $1,307.50 | $958.80 |
Yearly rego includes an example CTP amount in NSW, Queensland and the ACT, as explained in our cheapest state to register a car guide. Inspection costs and plates are extra. See the tables below. We could not confirm whether any state gives credit for stamp duty already paid in the seller’s state. Ask your state’s revenue office before you buy.
Do not drive the car on the road in your state until it is registered there. NSW describes the penalties for that as severe. If you must drive it to an inspection, you may need a temporary permit. WA charges $32.40 for one.
| State | What is required | Fee | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| NSW | AUVIS identity and safety inspection by an accredited examiner | Not stated on the pages we read | Report valid 42 days. An interstate-issued report is accepted only for light vehicles and only when you are more than 50 km from the NSW border. |
| Victoria | Roadworthy certificate. It is waived only if the car’s registration is current (or expired under 3 months) and the registered name stays the same, which a purchase changes. | Not stated | Done by a licensed Victorian vehicle tester. |
| Queensland | Safety certificate from an Approved Inspection Station | $102.70 for a car up to 4,500 kg (from 1 July 2026) | Valid 2 months or 2,000 km (private seller) and covers one transfer only. |
| Western Australia | Certificate of Inspection from an Authorised Inspection Station | $225.40 initial, $153.85 re-inspection (Perth metro, light vehicle, 2026-27) | Valid 3 months. A 48-hour movement permit ($32.40) is needed to drive the car to the inspection. |
| South Australia | Identity inspection when ownership is changing (as it is on a purchase). No roadworthy certificate mentioned. | Not stated | Who can do it is not stated on the pages we read. |
| Tasmania | Inspection at an approved inspection station for any car not already registered in Tasmania | Each station sets its own fee | Valid 30 days. |
| ACT | Roadworthy inspection. A vehicle identity inspection is also needed for a privately bought used car aged 10 years or less that was last registered interstate and is going into a new name. | Not confirmed | Identity inspections are only done at the Access Canberra inspection station. |
| NT | Compliance inspection. A car aged 7 years or older also needs a roadworthy inspection first. | The compliance inspection has no fee. Roadworthy fee not confirmed. | Done by a Transport Inspector, a police officer or an authorised inspector. |
Where we could not find an official statement, the cell says so.
| State | Time limit | Old plates and registration | CTP |
|---|---|---|---|
| NSW | Not confirmed. The inspection report is valid 42 days. | You get new NSW plates. Bring the old plates. | Buy a 12-month green slip from a NSW insurer. |
| Victoria | Not confirmed for interstate cars. The 14 days on VicRoads’ page applies to transfers of Victorian-registered cars. | Hand in the interstate plates for a receipt. Registering may not cancel the old registration, so contact the old state. | TAC cover is included in the registration fee. |
| Queensland | 14 days from buying or moving. You may be fined after that. | Surrender the interstate plates and get a receipt. Contact the old state to cancel and claim a refund. | Paid at first registration. Buy it before driving to the registration centre if the car is unregistered. |
| Western Australia | Not confirmed for interstate cars. The general rule is to notify within 14 days of buying. | You may need to hand in the interstate plates. WA plates are issued with the licence. | Motor Injury Insurance is paid by the owner. The Insurance Commission’s 2026-27 schedule shows $520.50 for 12 months for a private car, including GST and insurance duty. |
| South Australia | Within 3 months of moving to SA. After a purchase, apply as soon as practicable, because the seller can cancel the interstate registration at any time. | Surrender the interstate plates at a Service SA centre. Claim any refund from the old state. | Included in the SA registration application. |
| Tasmania | Within 3 months of arrival. A transfer application is due within 14 days of purchase. | Hand in the existing plates, then claim a refund from the previous state. | MAIB cover. Whether you must buy new cover on registering is not confirmed. |
| ACT | As soon as possible. A car garaged in the ACT for 3 months or less does not need ACT registration. | Surrender the interstate plates and give the receipt to the old state to claim any unused refund. | Bought with ACT registration from an insurer you choose. |
| NT | Within 3 months of living in the NT. | Not confirmed. | MAC cover is included in the NT registration fee. |
Some official pages were blocked or did not say. Open items: whether any state credits stamp duty paid elsewhere, the NSW, Victorian and WA deadlines for registering an interstate car, several inspection fees (NSW, Victoria, SA, ACT and the NT roadworthy), whether you must buy new MAIB cover in Tasmania, and what the NT does with old plates. We will fill these in as we confirm them.
Pages we opened on 9 October 2026: